update

Three R’s: rain, rest, and reading.

Its glorious: grey sky, a bit windy, and slow steady rain.  Laura and I can’t remember the last time it rained; we’re pretty sure it was early July.  I don’t know if its the low pressure or what, but we’re all moving a bit more slowly.  A nice low-key day.

Sara goes in for a check-up this afternoon.  Laura feels better by the day.  Though we aren’t sleeping very well we are eating splendidly, thanks to our Life Group and Bible class at church.  My cooking will have to wait until next week.  I’m only going in to the office on Friday this week…and then a three-day weekend!  I love this rest. 

Garage is coming along nicely.  We have one vehicle inside and once Ezell-Harding has their consignment sale in a few weeks, I’ll have my car in as well.  I continue to marvel how we came to accumulate so much stuff.  It has been very good to divest.  I even trimmed my library by about a third, and more weeding will follow.  It took two years and a third child for me to realize since I work in the most extensive Stone-Campbell library in the world, which is across the street from Vanderbilt Divinity School, with its own high-class theological research library, I don’t need to reinvent the wheel in terms of my own personal library.  We don’t have the space, and it doesn’t make good spiritual sense, to have so much.  So, in this sense I haven’t viewed cleaning out the garage as a task to accomplish, but a spiritual discipline: divesting stuff for the sake of simplicity…a rest from accumulation and materialism. 

I made use of my borrowing privileges at Vandy yesterday and checked out three books:

     -Guigo II, The Ladder of Monks, A Letter on the Contemplative Life and Twelve Meditations

     -Mariano Magrassi, Praying the Bible, An Introduction to Lectio Divina. Liturgical Press, 1998.

     -Daniel J. Harrington, S.J., How Do Catholics Read the Bible?  Sheed and Ward, 2005.

I read Harrington’s chapter and most all of Magrassi while waiting for a new tire to be put on my car this morning.  Quite helpful, both are worth your while. I’m saving Guigo for tomorrow.

Tonight I’d like to begin reading Henri Nouwen’s The Wounded Healer.  I’ll take one section at a time, chew on it for a couple days, and then post some reflections.

Lord willing, then I’ll start in on Uncle Dave’s Civil Government.

Leave a Reply

