escriptorium 2008 in review

The big news of 2008 for eScriptorium was the change to wordpress from blogger.  I’m still learning all the bells and whistles; the ability to upload doc and pdf files is what I like the best…should I ever actually get around to uploading, that is.

The stats for 2008 are as follows:

Total views: 3,137

Top three referrers:

Referrer Views
mcgarveyice.blogspot.com 191
johnmarkhicks.wordpress.com 135
ccotten.wordpress.com 26

Top 3 posts:

Title Views  
Links 124
Helpful Lectio Divina quotes 112
About 106

Top 3 search terms:

Search Views
lectio divina 44
prayer before reading scripture 14
lectio 11

I think the clustr map counter is the coolest thing.  I dropped the counter in in October; since then it reports 818 visitors from these countries:

United States (US) 676
Romania (RO) 31
Italy (IT) 14
United Kingdom (GB) 12
Canada (CA) 11
Brazil (BR) 7
Mexico (MX) 5
India (IN) 5
Singapore (SG) 5
Australia (AU) 5
Korea, Republic of (KR) 3
Malta (MT) 3
Spain (ES) 3
Philippines (PH) 3
Portugal (PT) 3
Netherlands (NL) 2
France (FR) 2
Germany (DE) 2
Taiwan (TW) 2
South Africa (ZA) 2
Thailand (TH) 2
Venezuela (VE) 2
Hong Kong (HK) 2
Argentina (AR) 1
Belgium (BE) 1
Russian Federation (RU) 1
Chile (CL) 1
Indonesia (ID) 1
Denmark (DK) 1
Monaco (MC) 1
Greece (GR) 1
Japan (JP) 1
Panama (PA) 1
Ghana (GH) 1
Ecuador (EC) 1
Israel (IL) 1
Slovakia (SK) 1

My favorite posts to write were the Explorations in Stone-Campbell Bibliography (a series which should inlcude new installments on the 27th of each month) and the reports of our jaunts here and there in search of history, genealogy, research and the like.  I also really like posting what I discover in the course of my work at DCHS (today in Restoration History and several of the posts tagged under “quotes” or “archival discoveries”).

I have been surprised that so many people consistently land here searching for lectio divina quotes.  A week hasn’t gone by yet that that lectio or lectio divina hasn’t generated a visit for me.  Big thank-you’s to John Mark and Chris for referring the most folks my way.  I’m also quite surprised that the blog has generated the taffic it has.  Between 12-17 people a day visit here.  There have been days when you could see tumbleweeds casting about…and then there were spikey days when over 50 folks would drop in for some reason or other.  Combined hits for the occasional epistles blog and escriptorium are at 10,700…which far exceeds anything I would have ever expected, especially since I didn’t mention anything on the blog that would generate hits for reasons political, entertainment or otherwise scandalous. 

So there are a few numbers.  Having reflected on a trio of posts which launched my blogging 3.5 years ago, I will tomorrow ruminate on some prospects for ’09.

Leave a Reply

