Dorris Research: Unanswered Question 1

When I undertook my Dorris research and decided to blog about it, I intended to use my blog as a means to publish some of what I found yes, but also as a way to solicit aid and assistance.  Already I have been in contact with several people who have found my by way of this blog and others who have commented along the way.  Thank you to each of you for your advice, questions, answers and suggestions.  I appreciate it very much.

Maybe you can help answer a question.

C. E. W. Dorris is a founding elder at Central Church of Christ in downtown Nashville from the very first public assembly on October 4, 1925 until his death in 1964.  Where, though, did he worship before then?

He was living in West Nashville at 5605 Morrow Road, just a very few blocks west of Charlotte Avenue Church of Christ.  That would be the natural assumption, but I have not found any records yet which will prove or disprove my hunch.  I also know he was active in some capacity at Jo Johnston Church of Christ, also in West Nashville.  But I can’t find anything from Jo Johnston.  All it would take to answer the question would be to find him listed in a printed church directory or some other kind of membership list or record book.  Maybe, just maybe, you have a nice tall stack of old Nashville-area Churches of Christ directories gathering dust in your attic….mind checking them for me?  🙂

If you would prefer to contact me directly, please feel free to do so at :    ice [at] discipleshistory [dot] org

One thought on “Dorris Research: Unanswered Question 1

  1. Was he preaching every Sunday? Could be that he was involved in itinerant ministry with, quite likely, more than one congregation.

    One way to track this is to look at all (!) the notices from preachers on the road in the Gospel Advocate. From 1899 to 1902 he is, i think, reporting in The Bible Student; from 1915 to 1920 one could look in The Home Missionary (!) and Tidings of Joy.

    God’s Peace to you.

    d

Leave a Reply

