blogging in advance, and a garden update from the ice’s

I like the WordPress feature allowing me to set the time of my posts’ publication.  Sometimes the blogging muses charm me and several posts come at once.  Then there are the times when I’m too busy, otherwise occupied or just uninspired.  Too, I like to compose several posts in advance and let them simmer for a few days.  I’ll go back to them once or twice… three or four times in some cases.  Then I send them out for the whole world to read (and three of you actually do!).  I still have drafts saved from over a year ago that haven’t yet seen the light of day, or the light of your monitor as the case may be. 

All that to say, I have several posts ready to go for the remainder of this week. 

Good news to report on the gardening front.  I harvested the first zucchini and cucumbers a couple days ago; we have yellow squash, green peppers, peas, okra, carrots and tomatoes coming along.  As soon as I get a new pair of overalls I’ll post a photo…American Gothic style.  I built a raised bed this year, 8’x12′ of 2×10 boards, filled it with two years worth of compost and it has taken off really well.  Last summer we didn’t set out a garden.  Just as well since it was so hot and we had our hands full getting ready for Sara’s arrival.  And on top of that since last year was our 7th summer in this house, I thought it fitting to give the land a Sabbath rest

My friend Mark Manry once told me about how Emerson or Thoreau (probably Thoreau…) once remarked to a colleague how he hadn’t read a book all summer…he hoed potatoes instead.  I’ve been reading, but I’m also trying to keep some dirt under my fingernails.  My only regret is that I can only squeeze so many plants in an 8×12 bed.  I have about 6 hills of peas, 5 or 6 pepper plants, about 9 squash and zucchini plants, two rows of okra and a nice stand of cucumbers climbing up a wire cage.  The carrot patch has about a half dozen volunteer tomato plants.  If they weren’t the nicest looking ones we’ve had here I would have plucked them out weeks ago.  But since appearances lead me to think they might actually produce something, they get to stay. 

They sprouted from the compost.  Why they managed to concentrate in one corner I can’t explain.  But they did and they look nice. It remains to be seen whether we’ll have tomatoes instead of, or in addition to, the carrots.  I call that corner my salad corner since one stand of peas is encroaching into the carrots/tomatoes.

I am proud to say that this year I haven’t sprayed once for insects, and we didn’t use any chemical fertilizer.  Composting our kitchen scraps and grass clippings renders a nice dark compost.  Maybe its just dumb luck as far as the bugs go.

Today we’ll make a loaf of zucchini bread.  Doesn’t get any better than this, friends!

3 thoughts on “blogging in advance, and a garden update from the ice’s

Leave a Reply

