Name Authority for Nashville, Tennessee Stone-Campbell Congregations

Name Authority for Nashville Tennessee Stone-Campbell Congregations

Click above to download a document listing 286 variants of time-, place- and character-names for the 228 known congregations of the Stone-Campbell movement in Nashville and Davidson County, Tennessee from 1820 to May 2010.

To my knowledge this is the first such compilation, and therefore, the most complete.  The publication of the list to this blog is a first step in my research toward a book on the Restoration Movement in Nashville.  With over 200 congregations in this county, the congregational research alone will take years, perhaps the remainder of my life.  If I live to be 100 I may not finish even a rudimentary survey.  It may be too much:  too many congregations, too many preachers, too much ‘story’ to tell. 

But this is where I am at the present.  I publish the list here to generate interest, additions, subtractions, corrections and clarifications.  Look it over and if I need to make changes, please let me know.

The story of these churches in Nashville needs to be told.  I ask for your help in telling it.

13 thoughts on “Name Authority for Nashville, Tennessee Stone-Campbell Congregations

  1. 22nd Avenue (north Nashville – my mom’s home congregation) to Milford Road (Bordeaux) – disbands? many move to – to Whites Creek Pike (near Alex Green School).

    Hope this helps!

    • Rothschild Ave continued Boscobel Street to the city limits; the atlas can be seen on the Nashville Room website. Look for Plate 17A, I believe.

      If you don’t mind, scare up the reference you have to Rothschild. We have talked about it, but i don’t have anything on paper about it, or referring to it. I suspect it is the house in which the congregation which later became Shelby Avenue met. I think.

  2. I’ve seen more, but the ones that are readily at hand are:

    GA for 25 February 1915. Rothchild is mentioned in James A. Allen’s article on page 172.

    Also GA 1910, pgs. 788, 816, and 1164.

    GA for 8 May 1913 (I think this was in the news section): “take Fatherland car and get off at Seventeenth Street. Church in sight.”

    • Very helpful; many thanks. I will look these up and add them to my files. My hunch remains that this congregation is what becomes Shelby Avenue, but more digging is in order.

  3. I was born in Northeast Nashville in 1933, the youngest of 3 children of Walter Farrell and Clara (Allen) Farrell. I attended Lischey Avenue church of Christ from my birth until 1951 when I married Oliver Brooks. There was a need for a new congregation in the Joywood area and several of the recently married couples at Lischey who were moving to the area started meeting at the Tom Joy School until a building was erected to be known as Joywood church of Christ. Brother H.M. Phillips the preacher who had been sunch a good influence on our lives helped us even to the poinrt of helping to dig the trenches for the foundation of the building and of course the preaching there for many years. My mother and her siblings with her mother had attended Lischey since moving from the Williamson County area and had attended a church near the Harpeth river. My mother was born in 1900 and was baptized in the Harpeth river. They attended Berry’s Chapel.
    While attending Lischey Avenue I remember our not having a regular preacher but a different one each week for many years. Some of the preachers I remember were Brother Rainey(teacher at Lipscomb, drove a model T), Granville Cullum who managed a funeral home on Gallatin Road. There were several others whose name I cannot recall. However, I remember having 2 and 3 week gospel meetings with Paul Hunton, Willard Collins and many other well known preachers of the day. I was baptized at 9 years of age by Brother Willard Collins and have faithful to the church since. My husband was converted by H. M. Phillips and we raised 4 children, 3 of whom are active faithful members of the church. Our son has been preaching for over 25 years in Tennessee, Alabama and at present Fayetteville, Georgia area.
    My Cousin Mary Ann King has attended the Shelby Avenue church of Christ all her life and I just learned with much sadness that they had to disband recently because most of the old members had died. I’m sure they could tell you much about that congregation and they reside in Nashville.
    Robert and Mary Ann King on Hody Drive I believe.
    I found out about this on Facebook and am so grateful that someone is researching this.
    Clara Brooks, Hamilton, Georgia

    • Thank you very much, Mrs. Brooks, for your memories and your kind words. If anyone else has memories, please do post them here or email me at icekm (at) aol (dot) com. It is interesting that Lischey helps plant Joywood…at Tom Joy School. Before Lischey was “Lischey” they met as a mission meeting for some time at Joy’s Flower Gardens. Nell Joy canvassed the neighborhood children and organized a Sunday School, meeting in various locations for two years. E. Mack Allen of Foster Street Church and Joe McPherson held a series of gospel meetings in August 1909 on Jones Avenue…then T. S. Joy offered land to any church who would build. So, Foster Street took them up on the offer and on May 5, 1910 the first building was completed on Jones at Cherokee. So, the Joy children’s group and the Allen/McPherson gospel meeting group establish themselves on Tom Joy’s land. What a wonderful turnabout that Joywood emerges from Lischey. Joywood and Trinity Lane merged some years ago and are still ministering in the neighborhood. Now, if anyone has a photograph of that building, which is right at 100 years ago, please contact me. If anyone has stories, memories or paper from old Lischey Ave or Joywood, please contact me. let’s ensure the stories are chronicled and preserved, and retold! Thanks again, Mrs. Brooks.

  4. Duke Street Church of Christ: I was the last minister of the Duke Street Church of Christ. I was a “part-time” minister there and started there in 1986 while I was at what is now David Lipscomb University (David Lipscomb College at the time.) The church closed shortly after I left there to go back to graduate school (Asbury Theological Seminary in Wilmore Kentucky) in 1991. When we closed, we sold the building to a Baptist church. The Cornerstone Baptist Church meets there now. The church was of the non-instrumental, non-institutional (“anti”) persuasion. The minister before me was Gary Hunt with whom I have lost touch over the years. I wish I knew more of it’s history. Would love to hear from anyone who knows more about this church’s history. The church had been there since the 40’s at least. At the time, one of the older members (Jesse Byars) told me he had memories of being able to see a field with cows grazing in it from the church steps! My email: ken.johnson.me@me.com Ken Johnson

    • Thanks for the comment Ken. Do you happen to have any paper from Duke St….in the way of directories, bulletins, or photos? What did the folks there remember to you about the congregation’s history, origin, ministry?

  5. Great scholarship, and just plain old grunt work. My wife ran across your site as she is doing a program for a homecoming celebration at Lawrence Avenue Church of Christ. I have taught and been interested in the impact of the church on early settlements in Ky and Tn
    Thanks
    Bill Kantz

Leave a Reply

