Book review forthcoming, and a little catch-up

I have at hand Eric Dishongh, From Campbell to Katrina: A History of the Churches of Christ in New Orleans. Heritage Press: Florence, Ala. 2011.  I intend to post a review soon.

Some months have passed since I last posted to this blog.  Truth be told, I haven’t even looked at this blog more than six times in the last six months.  I’m not exaggerating, I really haven’t.  I have checked email occasionally thus far into 2011, but not too much.  I researched little and cared to research even less.  What scant reading I’ve done has been on longhunters in the middle Cumberland area and all of that reading has been of a purely technical nature: enough to pass muster on my handmade kit of 18th century accouterments.  [I should mention that I have thoroughly enjoyed it.  It has been nice to have a bright spot.]

But…

But….I think I might be in the mood for some Nashville research.  Eric’s book has re-sparked my interest.  I very much–very much— appreciate his generosity in sending me a copy (with a very kind inscription and autograph!).  I am working my way through it and intend to post my review to this blog by and by.

Lately I have been living in the 18th century.  We scythed, gathered, threshed and winnowed wheat for the City of Goodlettsville.  I’ve done a fair bit of smithing about the forge, and we managed to get crops of corn, cotton, tobacco (burley and dark-fire both) and pumpkins in the ground.  Throughout the process we lived and worked according to weather and nature’s schedule so haven’t been in much of a hurry about anything.  My own garden is all in…tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, cabbage, beans, broccoli, okra, sunflowers, watermelon, onions, squash, basil, rosemary and thyme, and a hill of strawberries.  All in and filling out mighty nicely.  It is 100 per cent organic and shows all the signs of health and vitality.

All that to say, the review shall come.  Wait for it, it shall come.

2 thoughts on “Book review forthcoming, and a little catch-up

  1. Thank you, dear brother, for catching us up with you. It is good that you have spent time in the sun, planting and harvesting, praying and thinking. We join you in prayer, i pray every morning for all who need work, to sustain themselves and their families, that they may find that work, and do it well, and be justly compensated for it. You are in that number. Let us continue to pray, and not become weary!

    There are worse centuries than the eighteenth. We have lived in some of them.

    i wish that i could bring you here — although you would never leave your beloved Gnashville, would you? — to work with me and then go on beyond me, when i am no longer present in flesh. There is so much to be done, with the studies that we love! i hope that we can find a way for you to do some of it.

    God’s Peace to you.

    d

  2. Mac, last time I saw you, you were still living in the late 17th century with short forays into the middle 20th century to listen to the AM radio. Have you been “Enlightened?” I miss reading your posts. We recently moved onto 10 acres of wooded land and we see this blessing with all of the prophetic imagination of our conversations about the “new world” in college.

    I too pray you will find a place of employment soon – in an organization where your many passions and gifts can be expressed to their fullest.

    MM

Leave a Reply

