Barton Stone enroute to Nashville, August 1796

Part Second, a continuation from 14 August 1796: Today in Restoration History:

In climbing the mountain that morning, my horse lost one of his fore shoes.  At this I was troubled, knowing that it would be almost impossible to get him to the settlement in Cumberland.  He soon became very lame.  I applied to the Tennessean to let me ride his pack-horse, and put his pack on mine.  He unfeelingly refused.  I trotted after my horse, and drove him along [22] after the company, till I was overcome by weariness.  They neither permitted me to ride their horses, nor slacked their pace, and finally rode off, and left me alone in the wilderness.  I traveled leisurely along afoot, driving my horse before me, vexed at the baseness of my company in leaving me alone in this manner.

I had now arrived at the frontier settlement of West Tennessee, on Bledsoe’s creek, at the cabin of Major White.  Here I was kindly entertained, and rested several days, and then proceeded to Shiloh, near where Gallatin now stands.  Here I joyfully met with many old friends and brethren, who had lately moved from carolina, among whom were my fellow students and fellow laborers, William McGee and John Anderson, the latter of whom agreed to travel and preach with me through all the settlements of the Cumberland.  A length of time was not then required to do this, for the settlements extended by a few miles from Nashville, which at that time, was a poor village, hardly worth notice.

to be continued…

When Stone and his lame horse walked into Bledsoe’s fort, here is what he saw, at least here is the footprint of it:

The station itself looked something like this reconstruction in Goodlettsville, Mansker’s Station (in whose employ I have served since March 2011):

For a fine summary of archaeological digs conducted at Bledsoe’s fort, click here. For an account of the reconstruction of this fort layout as seen above, click here.  For Wikipedia articles about Bledsoe’s station and the Avery Trace (the road Stone walked with his lame horse), go here and here, respectively.

6 thoughts on “Barton Stone enroute to Nashville, August 1796

  1. I’m sorry it isn’t coming out for you Ray. It looks fine on my monitor and in the dashboard on wordpress when I composed it.

Leave a Reply

