Russell Street Church of Christ, Nashville, TN, 7 December 1939

Russell Street

3 thoughts on “Russell Street Church of Christ, Nashville, TN, 7 December 1939

  1. I attended Russell Street Church of Christ from the time I was about 6 years of age until I married and moved to Syracuse, New York at the age of 21. I am 62 at present. Brother Hubert Lawing was the minister in 1972 performed my marriage. His family and ours were very close. I attended David Lipscomb University, and married John Johnson, nephew of Athens Clay Pullias. Sister Thweat, wife of elder E. B. Thweat, taught one of my favorite Sunday School classes, followed by Sister Manning, wife of elder Guy Manning. Brother Manning was a pharmacist and owned the drugstore on the corner opposite what is now Zanies. He was killed there by a robber. The elders were like very dear Uncles to me. We all referred to each other as Brother and Sister. We all went to Short Mountain church camp in the spring before it opened to get things ready for the summer. My Daddy helped paint many walls in that old building. Daddy and other members took turns taking the Lord’s Supper to Mrs. Trembles’ nursing home just about a block further up Russell Street. Family names I remember right off the top of my head were Hughes, White, Tremble, Timberlake, Hill, Lance, Vance, Rushing, Walden. My Daddy brought home a Bulletin most every Sunday and placed them in his top dresser drawer. He passed away July of 2011, and I have those bulletins. I have wanted to scan them and give the digital copies to the archives downtown. The only reason I might not have a Sunday bulletin would be a family vacation or illness. The single most significant factor that destroyed the Russell Street Church of Christ was the Federally Mandated bussing of school children in Nashville. Overnight members evacuated East Nashville to avoid having their children bussed to inner city schools. The Madison Church, Rivergate Church, and Hendersonville Church were the final benefactors of this rapid mass evacuation. Shortly afterwards Nashville government built large housing project developments in East Nashville. Have you ever noticed there are no housing projects in Hillsboro Village, Green Hills, West End, or Belle Meade? A few were built on 12th avenue, but they were walled off by 440. The neighborhood school concept evaporated almost instantly in the East Nashville areas. The public parks integrated, the public pools were filled in with dirt, fights erupted almost without warning downtown, fear permeated public gatherings, and these churches became collateral damage. I lived this. There was no other reason all these churches folded overnight and simultaneously. It was a painful and dangerous time of adjustment to state it mildly.

    • Thank you very much Judy. I have tried to reply to you directly by email but the message was returned. Would you mind contacting me at icekm [at] aol [dot] com?

Leave a Reply

