3 thoughts on “Home for the Aged/Chapel Avenue Church of Christ, Nashville, TN, 7 December 1939

  1. I found that the house at this 1900 Eastland was owned by John H. Terrett in beginning in the 1880’s.. There was a Terrett Street nearby. It is quite confusing as there was also a Truett family that lived in the area and Terrett Street was later renamed Truett St. It appears that an addition was made to the back of the home when it became the Home for the Aged.

  2. My great grandfather, RW Comer (also an elder at the Chapel Ave. Church of Christ) founded that home for the aged there and it is with great pride that I find my work as a geriatric care manager to be much inspired by his life and that of my precious mother Jackie Comer Waddell; and her mother, Marie Fisher Comer.

  3. Back in the day, many of us younger ones would attend Sunday services at this home for the aged! It was an amazing experience for us. The place would be packed, and most, most memorable was the singing of the aged at the top of their lungs. I can still hear it to this day, most especially the aged women. You should be proud of your family ties to the Old Chapel Avenue home for the aged. For I remember it well, and it put a stamp on my heart!

Leave a comment